Gingerbread Decorating

I hope you have all had a peaceful and happy Christmas and have some wonderful plans for the new year. As I write, I am visiting my mum and dad in Armidale, NSW, Australia. It’s the first time I have been in Australia for 4 years and my first visit as a vegan. The short time I have been here has generated many blog posts I’d like to write from amazing vegan finds, communicating with family members and friends, cooking vegan for special occasions, new year’s resolutions and many more.

Anyhoo, rewind to before school even broke up. I was invited to the house of my colleagues for a small Christmas party. It wasn’t just a Christmas party, it was a time of creativity and tradition. Jane’s family must be one of the most festive families I know (Seb’s family are also incredibly festive) and for the past 10ish years or so, they have had an annual gingerbread decorating event and we were humbled to be invited and just amazed that J successfully veganised gingerbread. She didn’t just manage to make gingerbread, but gingerbread that could be used as a building material! Seb and I were amazed firstly about how delicious the gingerbread was (people said it was the best they’d ever eaten), but also at the effort that J and her family had gone to do accommodate and include Seb and I. We had a lovely time and as you can see, we could win awards for our gingerbread trees.

Got something to add?

