Some Dishes from this Week.

Bean and Bulgur Tacos with Passion Fruit – Coriander Sauce

P1040101

As I am leaving Bangkok soon, I am trying to get through the staple pantries. I have loads of bulgur wheat that needed eating so I made the above chilli. It was realy quick to make, but the recipe said to put it on torillas or in tacos. I decided to just eat it straight with a dollop of cashew but sour cream, some avocado cubes and passion fruit sauce. Both these recipes came from Urban Vegan. Blogger turned cookbook writer: Dynise Balcavage.

I also made a double batch of Isa and Terry’s Carrot and Raisin Spice Chewies. The below image is not mine, my picture was terrible. Here’s the link to the photographer. While they were high in sugar, they had wholewheat flour, carrot, dried fruit and walnuts so they were certainly nutrient dense. I took a batch in to work and they were snapped up. The easy way to make people crazy over baked goods; add cinnamon and nutmeg.

Carrot and Raisin Spice Chewies

Gedc0504

As I was heading off on a school trip for 3 days, I decided I needed to have something decent for breakfast. Invariably, the breakfast (and food in general in these hotels) is full of cheap hotdogs and processed hams.While there is usually fruit which is fine and there will also be some white bread and jam, so I wouldn’t stave, but I have got to the point where I don’t really want to put the pappy white bread with its zero nutrition in my body anymore. That said, I decided to take my own breakfast. A litre of my latest favourite soy milk and a batch of homemade granola which is a fraction of the price of the stuff in the store. No pictures though.I also took several serves of Veganomicon‘s Double Split Pea soup which made meal times a lot more enjoyable.

17047_303895727516_555727516_4021253_5274776_n

Now, I am back home, enjoying the peace and quiet of my lovely house after 3 days with lots of 11 year olds. Ahh…. Bliss…..

Got something to add?

