A Farewell Dinner

Last Monday, I cooked a dinner for some dear friends who finish for the school year this week and by the time they come back, Seb and I will be off on to pastures new. I have to say that it was one of my proudest moments in the kitchen because I created some pretty awesome fancy pants things.

I wish I had pictures for everything I cooked, but I will go through the menu.

We started with these little brushettas; cashew cream with pine nuts and black olives to be precise from Color Me Vegan.

P1040094

Then we had a tomato bisque. I got the recipe from Tal Ronnen’s A Consious Cook.I was given this beautiful book at Christmas from my sister-in-law and I finally got around to making something from it. It is very high-end veg cooking and rather labour intensive, but this dish was a bit more straightforward. It was so divine and creamy and the secret was Tal’s cashew cream. I’d love to cook more recipes from this based on the reactions people gave to this soup.

P1040096

For the main course I made carrot and avocado salad and miso and apple tofu. For dessert I made two ice creams; pistachio and butter pecan and a no bake chocolate pie.

A wonderful night that reinvigorated my desire to cook for others.

Got something to add?

