I’m on holidays OK?? Zucchini and Butterbean Soup

I know…Two soup posts in a day. 

I’ve got produce to use up.
I’ve got time on my hands…

So bite me!

A quick inventory of the fridge revealed a surplus of zucchini left over from the zucchini muffins I made with my EAL students on Monday. As Seb loathes zucchini with a passion, it would have to be disguised hence SOUP!

So yesterday, despite my online protestations about 2 months ago that I would not buy another cookbook until after Christmas, I succumbed when I saw Robin Robertson’s 1000 Vegan Recipes in Kinokuniya yesterday. I sometimes think that the novelty of having such an awesome bookshop within walking distance has yet to wear off. Anyhoo, a quick look in the index revealed a recipe for Zucchini and Butterbean soup. I had to make some changes as I only had canned butterbeans (that had been in the cupboard forever) and no canned pimentos. 

Seb especially misses his Parmesan cheese so I am on a mission to find a good substitute for it. I found a recipe for Parmasio in the above book. It’s basically toasted sesame seeds, nutritional yeast and salt put in the Vitamix until it becomes a powder. It works well and so much more nutritious than Parmesan cheese. Check out the nutrition of sesame seedsnutritional yeast and zucchini

Ingredients_for_zucchini_and_butterbean_soup
In_the_vitamix
Zucchini_and_butterbean_soup

 

The verdict? I loved the soup served with wholewheat bread. It had a lovely delicate flavour and it was very low in fat. It just had half a cup of soy milk and a tiny bit of olive oil for frying the onions. If you wanted to cut down, you could saute the onions in a smidgin’ of oil and then continue to in water and I think you could probably even reduce the amount of soy milk if you wanted to make this very, VERY low fat. Seb also really liked it. Ha! Zucchinis are delish!

Got something to add?

